Some people feel that there is no need for networked computers in schools. They contend that computers may actually hamper real learning. Well, if hamper means make progress difficult, or to restrict the free movement or progress of somebody or something, then I think this is ridiculous. It is now 2013,therefore technology and computers have a huge part in today's economy, such as work and the things built around it. Isn't that what school is for? To prepare students for the future? Not to mention how students are able to benefit from them. Students not only can practice learning how to use computers for future use, but computers have many of programs that help students learn. Programs like My Math Lab, My Reading Lab, Typing Master, Tutor classes, etc. The list goes on, and on. I have personal experiences dealing with this issue. In fact, it was quite recent. I am currently enrolled in Hagerstown community College where I am currently taking general courses. I am taking a Math course where I will not all the time understand how to do certain problems in class. Being that there is a limited of time to do a certain amount of work, I cannot always ask for help from the teacher and take away time from the other students. This is where the computer for My Math Lab comes in. I have Homework assignments done with this program. This program in fact teaches me how to do math problems better than the teacher could in some cases. The reason for this is because I can take my time, there is no pressure and it shows me how to do the problems, step by step consistently. . I think they are great instruments that help many people especially students. Internet could be compared to a giant library, that allows people to research and grab information that is needed.  For example, if a student is looking up a famous historian the student will have to read, while he or she is taking in information. Any teacher knows that they want students to learn and read in school, while reading increases speed of reading and comprehension, creating increased brain performance. Personally I think computers assist in the education of students all around, and I am glad to see that schools are using them.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All